I’m a rebel

Yup, instead of shopping for Christmas gifts, looks like I’m making most of mine! I didn’t plan it this way, but something must be stoking my desire to make things. Since my brother’s dogs don’t follow my blog, it’s safe to write about their Christmas gifts here. Hugo and Coco are chihuahuas. Adorable, aren’t they?

They weigh about 5 and 3 pounds, respectively, and need coats when they go out on winter walks. On a recent visit to the fabric store (just to look for material for curtains), I happened to find a pattern for doggie coats. Does that ever happen to you? You set out on one mission, and suddenly another idea taps you on the shoulder? Over here! Look at these cute doggie jacket patterns, the other idea beckons. So, I left the fabric store with fabric for an apron and patterns for the apron, curtains (I didn’t forget my original idea), doggie jackets, and a sewing machine cover. The apron is finished. So is my sewing machine cover. And now so is one of the dog jackets.

The wide part closes around the dog’s torso and fastens with velcro. The curved straps go between the dog’s neck and front legs and also fasten with velcro. There’s a little ring on the back you can hook a leash to. Made it with flannel — two pieces with fleece quilted between them. This tan jacket is for Hugo. I have some pink flannel for Coco’s jacket. Planning to get started on that pretty soon. The holidays do tend to impose deadlines on these creative gift projects. I have completed the Christmas cards I posted about week before last.

What’s next? Some photo projects, I think. A young woman at work asked if I would donate a photo for her group’s holiday party raffle. It’s an environmental group, so she was interested in a nature photo. I matted this one for her.

Naturally, that project sparked more ideas about incorporating photos into gifts. It sure is a busy time of year, but if we’re going to immerse ourselves in the gift frenzy, might as well give gifts we enjoy making!

Here’s hoping you can enjoy making some gifts!

4 thoughts on “I’m a rebel

Leave a Reply

