Sew?

The pink apron, top center, is the one I'm making. Mine will be purple!

It’s a crisp November Saturday, and I’m rediscovering the art of sewing. My mother sewed, and between her and my junior high home ec teachers, I learned this immensely practical and creative skill. When I graduated from college, I needed some career clothes but couldn’t afford much. So, I sewed. I made dresses, skirts, jackets, pants, and blouses. Practical as that was, it was also pretty satisfying. I was proud of what I could create. Eventually, I earned enough to buy more of the clothes I wanted. And I started filling up my time with other activities. My patterns, pin cushion, and sewing basket went to the back of the closet.

How about a purple apron!

I recently painted my bedroom and decided that I need new curtains to complement the new gray-green wall color. I also had some skirts and dresses to hem. Why not get a new sewing

machine and get these projects going? If I make the curtains myself, I can get exactly what I have in mind — a contemporary print in the sizes I need for two bedroom windows.  Imaging the possibilities, I ordered a new machine from Amazon. The day after it arrived, I trotted over to a local fabric store. Once there, ideas just started popping. I opened the pattern books and started thinking about all the things I could make. A hat and scarf for winter. New skirts, pants. Dare I try a jacket? It’s been a long time since I’ve done this. I decided to start small and left the fabric store with patterns for my curtains, an apron, doggie jackets, and a sewing machine cover. Got a bit of fabric and thread too.

I like to cook and bake — and tend to get batter and sauces all over myself when I do. That’s why I’m working on the apron now. It’s a good practice project too as it will test my ability to sew straight and curved seams. It’s not something I’ll be wearing out of my kitchen either, so it’s not critical that it be perfect. It this goes well, I’ll progress to the curtains.

Back to work!

Laying out my apron pattern pieces

Leave a Reply

